January 6th, 2009


Dwarf Stars Award (Happy Meme Day 6)

The winners of the 2008 Dwarf Stars Award have been announced!

Short speculative poetry makes me very happy and I'm pleased to finally be able to say that the 2008 Dwarf Stars winner is "Place Mat by Moebius" by Greg Beatty, originally published in Asimov's Science Fiction.

Second place went to Sonya Taaffe for her poem, "Muse," originally published in Strange Horizons.

Ann K. Schwader won third price for her haibun, "Dancing to Van Gogh," which first appeared in Mythic Delirium. A haibun is a poetry form which combines short prose with haiku.

Copies of the 2008 Dwarf Stars anthology are still available from the SFPA for $5.00 plus shipping. See the website for details: http://www.sfpoetry.com/dwarfstars.html