Deborah P Kolodji (dkolodji) wrote,
Deborah P Kolodji

Totuktomi Memorial Haiku Contest results

Each year, the Yuki Teikei Haiku Society has a 5-7-5 haiku contest in memory of Kiyoshi and Kiyoko Tokutomi, who founded the society in 1975. It is a kigo-based contest with assigned kigo. This year, the kigo was:

New Year: New Year's morning
Spring: jacaranda, hermit crab
Summer: mosquito, lemonade
Autumn: waters of autumn, hurricane
Winter: Veteran's Day, cold sparrows

The judges of this contest are always Japanese judges who live in Japan. This year's judges were Naoki Kishimoto and Yuko Senda.

The winners were announced at the Asilomar conference and I was surprised to discover that I won an honorable mention.

The 2007 winners with kigo in parentheses are:

First Prize ($100): Ellen Compton (jacaranda)
Second Prize ($50): Ed Grossmith (hurricane)
Third Prize ($25): Eduard Tarā (lemonade)

Honorable Mentions: Carolyn Thomas (New Year's morning), Joan Zimmerman (New Year's morning), Deborah P Kolodji (New Year's morning), Eduard Tarā (jacaranda), André Surridge (hurricane), Janelle Barrera (hurricane), André Surridge (lemonade), Michael Dylan Welch (lemonade), Roberta Beary (lemonade), Michael Nichels-Wisdom (cold sparrows)

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.